What I’ve Been Up to Lately

Running:  I have been running twice in the last 3 days.  I enjoy running, though I occasionally need to re-dedicate myself to it.  It currently gets dark here around 4:30, so I realize I will be running in the dark.  But I’m used to that…I even have a mini flashlight to run with and my reflective leg bands that I brought with me.  In addition to dark, I know it will be cold.  Each of my runs this week has been about 4.5 miles (7km).  It was 39 degrees when I started my first run and 35 when I started today’s run.  I have lots of winter running gear so I am not uncomfortable at all.  I also take my ipod.   I was really anxious to get running again after our trip to Italy…and the massive amount of pizza I ate.   But you don’t need to convince me to run—I love it, especially once I get out the door and am going.  Today, I erased the music from my ipod and replaced it with an audiobook. That leads me to…

Books:  I downloaded Michael Crichton’s Pirate Latitudes and began listening to it today during my run.  This is the text that was found, completed, on his computer after his unexpected death.  Crichton is my favorite modern author and I think I have read all of his books, except for one of the more recent ones which I can’t remember. The audio book is 9 hours, 9 minutes long, and it will be an enjoyable way to pass the time during runs or while walking through Kaposvár.

I finally finished my paperback copy of Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray.  It was a slow read, but I really liked it.  I especially loved the ending.  It doesn’t join Dreiser’s Sister Carrie or Cather’s My Antonia at the very top of my list, but it’s up there somewhere.  I wish I could always choose books I know I will like.

Next up is R.L. Stevenson’s Treasure Island, which surprisingly I have never read.  At least I don’t remember reading it.  I went to our local book store, Libra, yesterday.  They have a fairly large English-language section with one shelf of classics.  My first choice was actually Moll Flanders (which is Lisa Simpson’s favorite book—fun fact!) until I realized there are no chapters in that book…just continuous text.  Call me a snob, but I decided I wanted a book with chapters.  The store had several contemporary authors and books, but they are at American prices (2000-3000ft) while the classics are all 852 ft. each.

Yoga: Still not attending a yoga studio, though yesterday I found my most promising lead to date.  I will be researching it and there may be two evenings a week with hatha yoga.  I hope to have one of my students help me make sense of the website and confirm some of the details for me.

Soccer: It feels strange not going to any U. of Portland women’s soccer games this year.  They ended the year 9-9. It was definitely a regrowing year, and just barely made the tournament.  The tournament started yesterday and they were sent to Oregon State U., who they upset in PKs.  We got to see UCLA play at Cal State Northridge the day before we flew to Hungary.  UCLA ended up ranked #2, which I think is a bit high considering they start six freshman, including the keeper.  UCLA plays its first tournament game in a few hours. Regardless of how the two teams do, I am just excited to follow the tournament. Some games will have video broadcast online.  I just hope that Stanford, North Carolina, and Duke lose!

Go Portland and UCLA!

One thought on “What I’ve Been Up to Lately

  1. I’m interested to see how you like that Crichton book. I also thought that it was really neat, being something that was found after he died. I really enjoyed the quick read, and it was full of adventure. Not so much of the science stuff that I’m used to, but good anyway. I haven’t read Treasure Island either!
    Thanks for the update on the exercise. Hopefully once you make sense of the yoga website, you can get involved & start at it again.

Leave a Reply

