Hungarian Postal Service… elsőbbségi or not?

It’s time for a rant!  Not a serious rant, but more of an “Oh come on, there has to be a way to fix this” rant.  But I would sure appreciate if anyone could help me understand the cause of this situation, or give me advice.

The facts: 

  1. We sent Aubrey a card on October 5th and she received it, in Montana, on October 12th. (7 days)
  2. Other teachers in our program tell me that their U.S.-bound mail typically arrives in 7-9 days.
  3. We sent lots of postcards and lots of Christmas cards to friends and family….then waited to hear a response…
  4. Then we waited some more…
  5. I believe the words, “Hmmm….I wonder if our mail made it to the U.S. yet…it’s been weeks,” came out of my mouth once or twice.
  6. Some of the postcards arrived in the U.S. after a 60-70 day journey.
  7. The Christmas cards all seem to have arrived after a 50 day journey.
  8. I paid almost twice the price to send the Christmas cards  “elsőbbségi” (priority) so that # 6 wouldn’t happen.

I still don’t know whether everyone has received our postcards (90 days ago) and Christmas cards (56 days ago).  I don’t say that to make anyone feel bad…I wasn’t expecting you to let me know when it arrived. I am just making a point.

This week I did some research and discovered that while our co-teachers in eastern Hungary still claim their mail takes 7-9 days, others in Kaposvár have had a similar experience to us. My school sent our overseas teacher (now in Oregon) a Christmas card and it took about 30 days.  And some students sent mail to someone in Colorado, and that took about 30 days.

You don’t have to be a math expert to realize that 30 is much better than 56 or 90.  But even 30 days is unacceptable!  I wonder what’s going on.  Does Kaposvár mail get sent to the U.S. by way of Antarctica? Or maybe Russia? Or maybe Russia, then Antarctica? …. Really, I have no clue.

Perhaps there is no cause to this situation. Maybe it just is how it is and I should deal with it.  Or, maybe they accidentally left it in a bin in the sorting room and forgot about it for weeks. In any case, I have no confidence in the local mail system anymore.  The next time you get mail from me, it will likely be postmarked “Budapest” instead of ” Kaposvár.”  I will take it there myself.

Side note: A monster storm is making its way into Hungary at the moment. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, look up “eastern Europe cold weather” on any news website. I don’t know how this will compare to the monster storm Olympia Washington received a couple weeks ago, but I don’t think it will be as crippling to the city.  And I’m sure my next post will have some photos of winter!  Have a great weekend!

GO [insert your favorite Super Bowl team here] !

2 thoughts on “Hungarian Postal Service… elsőbbségi or not?

  1. I think it’s funny that you wrote this post & mentioned me. I received your Christmas card only 1 day before you posted this! No postcard though. I wonder if it is Hungary’s postal service that is the root of the problem or if it’s a combination of other countries’ air mail as well. Do you have other teachers in the program in countries near Hungary that you could do a comparison with? I would agree with you in that 30 days seems too long for anything transit-wise. I don’t blame you for losing faith in the postal service!

    • Everyone in this program is in Hungary. I will try sending from Budapest, though. Maybe the next time we are up there, just to test it.

Leave a Reply

