In entertainment news….

Who’s excited about The Hunger Games coming out in a couple weeks?  Since I haven’t read the book (books), I have only the trailer to judge from.  Within the realm of young-adult fantasy movies, I imagine it will be bigger than Eragon and The Golden Compass, but not as big as the Twilight or Harry Potter series’. I don’t know if I will end up reading any of these books — there are so many books to choose from! I must admit I was proud of myself for finishing the Lord of the Rings books before watching the movies. I will probably end up reading the Hunger Games, but not before watching the movie. And, I’m not at all interested in the Twilight story.

I have been playing the Hollywood Stock Exchange (hsx.com) for over 15 years and I can guarantee there has never been a hotter time for young-adult stories being brought to the big screen. In addition to all mentioned above, there are several more coming out in the next couple years.

Twilight Breaking Dawn - Hungarian Release

Twilight “Breaking Dawn” – Hungarian Release Nov. 2011

Speaking of Harry Potter, I have watched all eight of the movies, for the first time, in the last week!  For those of you who care about my opinion, my favorite film was “…Prisoner of Azkaban” and my least favorite was “…Goblet of Fire.” I thoroughly enjoyed the entire story.

Now on to the topic of reading. There is a collection of classic literature which is widely found in the Hungarian bookstores I have visited. It is know as Collins Classics, and they have published dozens of the (mostly American and European) classic novels. The best part is that they are very cheap…only 852 forints each ($4), which is cheaper than their list price in the USA and online. I am happy to report that I have done my fair share of reading during the last few months.  So far, I have read Pirate Latitudes – Crichton (not a classic), Cannery Row (Hemingway), The Picture of Dorian Grey (Wilde), Treasure Island (Stevenson), SIlas Marner (Eliot), The Turn of the Screw (James), Crime and Punishment (Dostoyevsky), and I am just finishing Journey to the Center of the Earth (Verne). Waiting on the bookshelf is Moll Flanders (Defoe).

I have noticed several high school students reading the Hunger Games books, and I was able to take photos of a couple of the books.  I think the covers look the same as the US versions, except for the language.

Hungarian Hunger Games book cover

The Hunger Games (lit: Battle of the Hungers)

Hungarian Hunger Games book cover

Mockingjay (lit: The Chosen One)

4 thoughts on “In entertainment news….

  1. I just started reading The Hunger Games 2 nights ago. Had I not been so tired, I would’ve liked to stay awake long into the night & read it. Although it’s a “young adult” piece of fiction, it’s the type of book that grabs your attention right away & makes you want to keep reading. I’m looking forward to reading all 3 of these books.

  2. The Hunger Games movie is going to be huge. It has a passionate following, to say the least. You should think about logging your reading on Goodreads. It’s interesting to see what others are reading.

    • I don’t know what Goodreads is. Do tell! Is it a NOVA-site or a public website? When I talk about the box office, I am thinking from a Hollywood Stock Exchange (hsx.com) perspective. It is priced for a $105 million opening weekend, though the “experts'” forecasts are in the 70-100 range. But several equally-anticipated movies recently have been 120+. The word is that the interest in the movie is tracking like a sequel, even though it isn’t.

Leave a Reply

