The Antrim Coast and Giant’s Causeway

Today, I noticed that my photos are not clickable links to the full-size photos. They are supposed to be, and have been in the past. Apparently there was a change with the default settings of my theme – I don’t really know. But I am sorry you haven’t been able to see full-size photos, I will backtrack as I have time and fix that. And it will be fixed in the future.    Also, I forgot to show you one picture from Scotland:

Back to Northern Ireland, a place I have wanted to go, and have been curious about for a long time! I know that both times I went to Ireland (which completely makes me sound like a snob) I wished I had been able to complete the journey by including the Northern country.

We picked up our rental car today around 11:30 and immediately headed up the coast on the “Causeway Coastal Route” it is a much longer but much more scenic route to reach the Giant’s Causeway and the popular cities of Portrush, Coleraine, and Bushmills (Whiskey). It was a beautiful drive; I believe Kellie might have some video posted on her blog eventually.

We had a busy day with lots of stops…and notably an “Amazing Race-like” experience. That is to say, we found a hotel room for the night at about 8:30 pm, Sunday night, all the stores closed (except for KFC) and we drove around until I got in to someone’s open wifi signal and booked a room.  And an unexpectedly great room it was!

But the highlight of the day was the Giant’s Causeway. It is a structure of 40,000 interlocking basalt columns rising out of the sea as a result of an ancient volcanic eruption [wikipedia]. We parked down the road to save 10 bucks on parking (thanks, Tripadvisor forum) and enjoyed our time immensely. Enjoy the photos:

Antrim coast northern ireland

Antrim coast

Giant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern Ireland

Small basalt columns rising out of the sea

Giant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern Ireland

most are hexagonal…any ideas why?

Giant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern Ireland

standing on the columns, looking west

Giant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern IrelandGiant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern Ireland

Giant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern IrelandGiant's Causeway Antrim Coast Northern Ireland

Antrim Coast

NOT part of the Causeway. This was miles away, on a walking path atop some cliffs. Notice the fissures in the rock – a huge chunk of rock could break off the cliff and any point theoretically. To be fair, there was a little sign saying they aren’t responsible if I fell to my death. It’s like an earthquake fault 10 feet from the edge of a cliff.

One thought on “The Antrim Coast and Giant’s Causeway

  1. Thanks for that last picture from Scotland. 🙂 Those cattle/oxen (?) have bangs!
    I think I’ve seen pictures of Giant’s Causeway before, probably in some geology book or something. Or maybe it’s just very reminiscent of Devil’s Tower in Wyoming. Of course, that’s my only experience seeing really oddly shaped basalt columns. I looked on Wikipedia about the hexagonal basalt columns. Such a neat thing!

Leave a Reply

