A Holiday at the Beach…Which holiday is it?

If you live in the U.S., I am guessing you believe you celebrated Presidents’ Day today. Well, maybe you didn’t celebrate. In fact, if you aren’t a government employee, you probably worked a normal day. But, you probably think it was Presidents’ Day, right? Wrong.

The official government record lists today as “George Washington’s Birthday.” To quote the federal government’s website: This holiday is designated as “Washington’s Birthday” in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

I guess that means that a state could “officially” label today as President’s Day, but being a federal holiday, it is truly Washington’s Birthday.

In any case, I thought the beaches would be crowded, being a holiday and all.  In fact, the three Malibu-area beaches I visited were the complete opposite of crowded! And Roget’s Thesaurus tells me that is “uncrowded, empty.”

Some photos:

El Pescador State Beach, just west of Malibu, CA

El Pescador State Beach, just west of Malibu, CA

I guess this is a tidepool?

I guess this is a tidepool?

I think it is a guesthouse on the property of a larger house. What a location!

I think it is a guesthouse on the property of a larger house. What a location!

Broad Beach Road. Several celebrities live on this road.

Broad Beach Road. Several celebrities live on this road, including Pierce Brosnan, Stephen Spielberg, Danny Devito, Dustin Hoffman, Robert Redford, Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell.

One of the prettiest houses I have ever seen, and right on the beach. It is currently on the market. 4bd, 4ba, 2500 square feet on 0.8 acres. $14,995,000.

One of the prettiest houses I have ever seen, and right on the beach. It is currently on the market. 4bd, 4ba, 2500 square feet on 0.8 acres. $14,995,000.

Sunset at Westward Beach, but a storm is coming in. Rain expected tomorrow. As I was driving away, I remembered that this is the beach where I proposed to Kellie.

Sunset at Westward Beach, but a storm is coming in. Rain expected tomorrow. As I was driving away, I remembered that this is the beach where I proposed to Kellie.

One thought on “A Holiday at the Beach…Which holiday is it?

  1. Hello there I am so excited I found your site, I really found you by
    accident, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb job.

Leave a Reply

