The 2013 Los Angeles Marathon

I decided to get up early and get to the finish line of the L.A. Marathon. I thought it would be a new subject for my photography, but I rarely go to races just to watch. Plus, the L.A. Marathon is kind of a big deal – 25,000 participants – and it takes place on a new-ish course, “Stadium to the Sea.” It starts at (in) Dodger Stadium and winds through many L.A. neighborhoods and past many famous sites before it ends up on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica.

Because of the blocked streets and presumably horrendous time finding a parking spot, I have up with a plan that I really enjoyed, but probably would not have before living in Europe.  At 6:45am, I drove through the beautiful, pre-sunrise dense fog down to Malibu. From there, I took an L.A. public bus into Santa Monica. Instantly, I was reminded on the joys of bus travel – time to look out the windows, time to listen to my ipod, and the elation of not having to drive 5mph down street after street looking for a parking spot. I saved on the gas and on parking fees, especially since the bus’ coin machine wasn’t working so I got to ride for free. Twenty-five minutes after boarding, I was exiting, although several blocks away because of the traffic detours. It was a beautiful day, especially for running. From 7:45 until I returned around 2pm, the temperature seemed constant around 65 degrees and the sun broke through the clouds only for about 10 minutes.  That is what I call outstanding weather for running.

By the way, I spent my time pretty much doing what you’d expect – wandering a bit, finding good photo positions, taking photos, cheering on runners and shouting encouraging things (remind me to make signs next year), and going for a long walk through the city toward the Co-Op. Enjoy the photos!

Hand-crank wheelchairs.

Hand-crank wheelchairs.

_DSC3052

Aleksandra Duliba (Belarus) nearing the finish

Aleksandra Duliba (Belarus) nearing the finish

_DSC3084

Crossing the finish line for the $75,000 prize

Crossing the finish line for the $75,000 prize

Erick Mose of Kenya nearing the finish line

Erick Mose of Kenya nearing the finish line

$25,000 prize

$25,000 prize

Deena Kastor - American record-holder and Olympic Medalist. We went to the same high school.

Deena Kastor – American record-holder and Olympic Medalist. We went to the same HS.

almost there

almost there

Finish Line is in sight!

Finish Line is in sight!

Happy St. Patrick's Day to this McRunner

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to this McRunner

I thank God for marathon pacers. Free encouragement while you're trying to meet your goal.

Thank God for marathon pacers. Free encouragement while you’re trying to meet your goal.

Remind me to make signs next year!

Remind me to make signs next year! Zoom in to read the signs.                                                          BTW: the guy on the left is Josh Groban’s identical twin, I think.

Lunch

Lunch

4 thoughts on “The 2013 Los Angeles Marathon

  1. You can definitely see your expertise within the work you write.
    The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  2. I’m curious to find out what blog system you have been working with? I’m experiencing
    some small security issues with my latest website and
    I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any
    suggestions?

Leave a Reply

