A Dodger Fan in San Francisco

First off, let me say that I will soon be posting some photos from my day wandering around San Francisco, checking out the sites last Tuesday. The night I wandered, I went to the Giants game. That is the focus now. For you photo aficionados, you’ll enjoy know that AT&T Park, home of the Giants, is the only stadium that allows full-size tripods! I read this before, but couldn’t believe it until I contacted the stadium. I walked through the entrance with a tripod and camera bag, no questions asked. I never actually got to the seat that was printed on my ticket. Actually, I don’t think I ever sat down. I did what I do…I wandered, I looked for interesting viewpoints, I looked backward when everyone looked forward, and I checked out the game from many different places within the stadium: sanfrangiants11 Just south of the stadium is the China Basin, apparently called “McCovey Cove.”

Willie McCovey and his cove

Willie McCovey and his cove

Across the basin, by way of a quaint drawbridge, is a walking path with memorials to each year of Giants baseball.

Across the basin, by way of a quaint drawbridge, is a walking path with memorials to each year of Giants baseball

Outside the stadium, there is a free area to watch the game from just beyond the rightfield fence. You can hang out in here for 3 innings at a time (if it isn't crowded) without a ticket.

Outside the stadium, there is a free area to watch the game from just beyond the rightfield fence. You can hang out in here for 3 innings at a time (more, if it isn’t crowded) without a ticket.

AT&T Park and beyond. The signature glove, Coke bottle, and the Bay Bridge in the background

AT&T Park and beyond. The signature glove, Coke bottle, and the Bay Bridge in the background. Left field is the party zone! More on that later.

You're wondering what in the world that is. It's Lou the Seal! Check out the next video to see him in his glory

You’re wondering what in the world that is on the scoreboard. It’s the Giants’ mascot Lou Seal! Check out the next video to see him in all his glory


I did not record this video, but it shows what he was doing at the game Tuesday night. What would you expect a seal to do at a baseball game? Of course, sing a Queen song!

This guy sucks. Actually he doesn't, but I like to think he does.

This guy sucks. Actually he doesn’t, but I like to think he does.

Down the foul line

Down the foul line

Field Level

Field Level

I didn't know if it was safe to wear Dodger blue, so I wore a somewhat-disguised dark green jacket over brown shirt, and brown beanie.

I didn’t know if it was safe to wear Dodger blue, so I wore a somewhat-disguised dark green jacket over brown shirt, and brown beanie. I don’t wear black and orange, their real colors.

Singing Journey songs with 40,000 other people. Belting it out!

Singing Journey songs with 40,000 other people. Belting it out!

Incidentally, this area (the photo above) beyond left field is the party zone. Not officially, but isn’t the outfield always where people go when they just want to hang out and drink, and don’t have the money for expensive tickets? There are lots of food stands behind the scoreboard, several drinking areas, it kind of feels like a fair or carnival, and it is definitely the kind of the place where lots of people are obviously wasted…For a few innings, I stood in this area, in a standing room area just off of the walkway. I stood with my camera on the extended tripod, really just watching the game and deciding what to photograph next. Before I knew it, people walking by, mostly 20-something girls, saw my camera. In their not-fully-coherent state, they would walk up, stand and front of the lens and smile, or pose, or sometimes just be out of it. It was quite exciting! I won’t post those here, but it was really fun to take portraits of such willing participants. However, that’s not the point of this blog post.

These are the people who gather then home runs when they land in the water

These are the people who gather then home runs when they land in the water

Finally, I’m going to go ahead and sincerely apologize to the whole hispanic community, as well as anyone who likes “banda” music.  Usually, closers come into the game in the 9th inning heralded by triumphant, intimidating music. Trevor Hoffman enters to ACDC’s “Hells Bells,” while Eric Gagne entered to “Welcome to the Jungle.” When the Giants’ closer Sergio Romo enters, it is to this music and the entire crowd busts into a dance party. I apologize because I didn’t recognize it as a real song; I thought it was a made-up song, like a song someone was playing as a joke. I listened to this song and pictured clowns partying, not intimidation.  The video montage was not convincing either. As you can see in the following video, at the times it occasionally cuts to the stadium videoboard, the montage is a mix of a) Romo being a dominating pitcher, and b) Romo doing some funky slo-mo dance, with a strange facial expression that is not the slightest bit intimidating.  I was wierded out, actually. Enjoy “El Mechon” by Banda MS:

4 thoughts on “A Dodger Fan in San Francisco

  1. Whoa I agree with you on that intro song. It’s not the typical pump-you-up intro song like I’ve heard at other sporting events.
    Great pictures Bobby. I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of the Bay area through your eyes.

  2. suppose I should clarify, too. Taking pictures of drunk people was exciting because I got practice with portraits without having to awkwardly go up and ask. They came to me.

  3. Pingback: The Bronx, The Best Pizza, The VIP Treatment, (and FOX News) | Life's Next Daring Adventure: Southern California

Leave a Reply

