Public Art @ Dodger Stadium!

Last week, I was invited to a Dodger game. It was “Matt Kemp Bobblehead Night” and I have never seen the stadium this packed. Seriously, the right field bleachers is never full! I was invited by my brother’s friend, who has primo season tickets, and I went with the two of them. You can’t ask for a better view than this…plus an aisle seat with no one sitting behind us.

Kershaw delivering a pitch in the 9th inning.

Kershaw delivering a pitch in the 9th inning. From Loge section 111.

Dodger Blue

Dodger Blue.

The game was more of Clayton Kershaw brilliance, and it was quick! Los Angeles traffic was horrendous; it took us 1 hour and 53 minutes to drive 35 miles. I don’t remember the last time I got to a game after it had started! Then, it turns out we were only at the game for 2 hours because it moved so quickly!  My brother’s friend also has a parking pass for the tiny lot right next to the stadium gate AND we parked in the very first spot, which was mysteriously unoccupied. So once the game ended, we were out of the stadium, in our car, and in a total of 3 minutes, completely off the property. It was incredible.

Before I forget, this post is about public art. Last winter, Dodger Stadium underwent a renovation to add new bathrooms, new video boards, some additional walkways, and things like that. But I have noticed they also added a lot of “designer touches.” In the middle innings, I wandered with my camera to record some of them. Enjoy.

bobble2bobble1

On the Reserved Level, several supersized bobbleheads are available for photos. Yes, they actually do bobble their heads.

escalator

jackie robinson dodger stadium

The Aisle signs

The Aisle signs

The Giants make me sick!

The Giants make me sick!

Apparently, the South Korean rapper (?) "Psy" sells some food here at Dodger Stadium. I don't know what Chamisul is, but the whole thing was closed and locked up.

Apparently, the South Korean rapper (?) “Psy” sells some food here at Dodger Stadium. I don’t know what Chamisul is, but the whole thing was closed. You can see the shutters are down.

Look for this sign if you want a Dodger Dog.

Look for this sign if you want a Dodger Dog.

A famous name in sports history.

A famous name in sports history.

Because L.A. is a multilingual place.

Because L.A. is a multilingual place.

When there isn't room for a little aisle sign like the one above, this is the alternative. This is from the Reserved Level.

When there isn’t room for a little aisle sign like the one above, this is the alternative. This is from the Reserved Level.

Umm... I was walking through the walkway to the Suites, this guy was there. Someone wanted to take a picture of him, and someone else threw him the baby. I was a photo assassin: snuck into the group, got a quick photo. and went on my way.

Umm… I was walking through the walkway to the Suites, this guy was there. Someone wanted to take a picture of him, and someone else threw him the baby. I was a photo assassin: snuck into the group, got a quick photo. and went on my way.

Leave a Reply

