If you happen upon an Urban Outfitters…

This is not a clothing post, this is a literary post.

I walked through the local mall the other day. It was oddly deserted. In any case, I wandered into Urban Outfitters and perused their “table of books.”  I doubt that’s what they actually call it, so I don’t know why I chose quotation marks there. But that’s my name for the large book-filled table near the front of the store. I’m a tad embarrassed that I several times thought, “that book is cheaper at Costco.” I know, I know!

There were two books that I thought would be fun to own, but after about 30 seconds my internal impulse-purchase alarm went off, and I settled for flipping through the pages at the store. I think these books are funny. How about you?

1.) How to Tell if Your Cat is Plotting to Kill You (Matthew Inman)

It’s a small table book, and shows various things cats do, accompanied by what they are really doing. Like this:

Capture1 Capture2 Capture3

All images are from Amazon’s “search inside this book” feature and are copyrighted materials.

You know how cats will sometimes paw at you? If you’re a cat owner, you know what I’m talking about. Anyway, it’s not actually an affectionate or mothering gesture. According to the author, your cat is probing you to test for internal organ weakness!

2.) Understand Rap: Explanations of Confusing Rap Lyrics You and Your Grandma Can Understand  (William Buckholz)

I actually found this book useful, and if I really cared about rap music, I might want a copy around. In any case, the author tells it like it is, in clear terms. Lyrics like these:Capture1 Capture2 Capture3 Capture4

You get the point!    And those images were also taken from Amazon’s “search inside the book” feature and are copyrighted materials.

Leave a Reply

