Random Thoughts on Food

  • I love Hemp Milk, I like Coconut Milk. I think Soy Milk, Almond Milk, and Oat Milk are OK. I think Rice Milk and Flax Milk are disgusting.
  • There is really no reason for you ever to buy applesauce or breadcrumbs. They are easy to make at home and taste delicious.
  • My Kombucha production is going well, although I am still playing around with particular steps.
  • About once a week, I order this:

P1110315

Yes, I do like my burritos with a serving of death.

Actually this is Freebird’s hottest sauce, which they sell in bottles. I actually get some extra, to go.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • I was going to eat one of those packaged microwaveable chicken sandwiches that I found in my parents’ freezer. But then I didn’t. Why? Two reasons. The first is that I have been trying to eat semi- or mostly-vegetarian lately. The second is because I was disturbed by the processed nature of the ingredients. Would you believe that  a chicken sandwich includes imitation “chicken-type flavor?” Apparently chicken needs the following ingredients added to actually taste like chicken: hydrolyzed corn gluten, autolyzed yeast extract, partiallyhydrogentated soybean and cottonseed oil, disodium inosinate, and disodium guamylate. Those are listed as the ingredients in said chicken-type flavor.
  • I have now made homemade pizza twice in the recent past – same style each time. It’s a Trader Joe’s crust baked for a couple minutes until it starts to brown. Then I brush on olive oil, (no pizza sauce), garlic, rosemary, and chili flakes. Then small eggplant chunks (chopped, salted, rinsed, and browned in a pan), a tiny bit of yellow onion, chopped kalamata olives, and strips of yellow bell pepper (roasted and skin peeled). Then covered with mozzarella. After it’s done cooking, I sprinkle some slivers of sliced parmesan (not grated) and some drizzles of good balsamic vinegar.  Does it sound good? It tastes great!
One thought on “Random Thoughts on Food

  1. Your pizza recipe sounds really good! And the frozen chicken sandwiches sound awful. That’s horrible that for it to even taste chicken-like, they have to add in all that extra crap. Good for you for eating well. I need to work on that. I’m pretty sure I eat a lot more processed food than I think I do. Heck, I started out my day today with a big bowl full of Fruit Loops. With regular cow’s milk— I don’t think I knew there were so many different types of milk, holy cow!
    Kombucha = ew. In my opinion.

Leave a Reply

