Rhode Island: How One Day Turned Into Two

Alright, time to continue the blog. You know how it goes: I stayed current while I was on my own, because I could get back to my room in the evening and stay up alone while I finished the blog. When you’re with friends, it’s too exciting to say, “hey, you all have fun. I’m going to sit in front of my computer alone.” On one hand: staying up late, drinking mimosas. On the other hand, staring at my laptop. That’s a pretty easy choice. So my Boston blog report was a few days late, and I now present my Rhode Island report…about four days late. Sorry about that.

My original plan was to leave Boston on the 2nd and head back toward Baltimore/DC for my return flight on the 6th, and I didn’t have any plans. It was going to be an unplanned, “figure out what to do as I go along” sort of ending. Then, I got in touch with a friend, Jessica, who lives in Newport, Rhode Island. My connection to her is that I lived next door to her in university housing in 2003-2004, but I haven’t seen her since then. She is from Michigan, but now lives in RI because her husband is in the military. She said that they had plenty of room and that I was welcome to stay there as I passed through. My intention was to spend the one night, and actually I was unsure whether they just wanted me to arrive late, sleep, and then leave, or if they wanted me to stay so they could show me around. As I was driving that direction from Boston, I stopped to check out the Lizzie Borden House in Fall River, MA. She called (or texted, I don’t remember) and asked when I was planning on arriving. She and her husband, their infant twins, and her sister who was visiting from Michigan were all there and planning on going for a Cliff Walk. I was only about 30 minutes away and was excited they wanted me to arrive early!

Lizzie Borden House

Lizzie Borden House

I got there, and though I only knew one of the three (actually, one of the five), it was like old times. Pretty soon after, we went for a drive around the area where all of the huge Mansions from the 1890s-1920s are. There are two streets: Bellevue Ave. and Ocean Ave., and they’re completely beautiful! We drove around a bit and then parked so we could walk on the path that hugs the cliff. This is known as the Cliff Walk and allows you to have the ocean at one side and the backyards of mansions on the other. This path is temporarily closed in places because of hurricane damage, but we did walk part of it.

Mansion backyard

Mansion backyard

Along the coastal path

Along the cliff walk

Then, we decided to go to dinner. We dined at a spectacular location, the Officer’s Club on the Naval Base. It was an outdoor restaurant, with seating on the patio near the harbor. We got two shows as we sat: one of the spectacular sunset over the bay, and also a musical performance by a Navy band, in their dress whites, singing modern songs. The highlight was their performance of Ellie Goulding’s “Lights.”

The band is performing on the stage

The band is performing on the stage

View from our Table

View from our table

20130802_194204_HDR

It was “Fish Fry Night” and I ordered a mix of seafood which included shrimp, fish, scallops, and some other things over a huge bed of fries. Draft beers were cheap, and it was just a really relaxed, enjoyable evening. It seemed to be a mix of people in uniforms and people in regular casual clothes. I tried to walk around with perfect posture the whole time I was there..to fit in πŸ™‚ There were lots of family members of all different ages eating there, but it is certainly a special environment. It was a lot of fun!

That evening, we decided that my flexibility allowed me to stay an extra day, and that allowed us to make plans for the next day. We all decided to take a ferry to Martha’s Vineyard, an island south of mainland Massachusetts. There are several ferries that go to Martha’s Vineyard, and they leave from three or four different locations on the mainland. We identified a catamaran ferry that leaves from New Bedford, MA and decided to take that one the next morning.

2 thoughts on “Rhode Island: How One Day Turned Into Two

  1. Lizzie Borden house: creeeeeepy!
    Cliff Walk: looks like a great place for a leisurely stroll. Did you take the mansion yard & cliffwalk pictures yourself? They are really beautiful. I’m assuming you used the thing where it takes the 3 pics & combines them (I know I’m not describing that accurately).
    What a cool dinner experience. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

