Word of the Day: Matilda

It’s not really the word of the day,…

But in the last couple weeks I have come up with three excellent connections to Matilda. If any of these associations are not yet in your life, I suggest you add them.

  • ALT-J has a song called Matilda. I have wanted to see this British band perform since a past student of mine (Chloe) suggested I would love them. She was right. The singer certainly has a unique voice, and I was finally able to see them at the Crystal Ballroom in Portland earlier this month. Here is Matilda. By the way, my brother looks a lot like the singer in this video:
  • Léon: The Professional is a 1994 movie starring a 12 year-old Natalie Portman. This is actually her first film, and after watching it early this month for the first time, it is on my list of favorites. In particular, Natalie Portman was absolutely phenomenal, in my opinion. Completely phenomenal!

I watched the film because I was interested in the lyrics to the Alt-J song and realized that the lyrics are specifically about,   and directly related to the end of this movie. Natalie Portman plays Mathilda.  Here is another performance of the Alt-J song, but set amidst a montage of clips from the film. I highly recommend this film!  (warning: if you are particularly adept at figuring things out from a movie trailer, this video will give away a lot of the movie plot)

  • Goose Island is a brewery in Chicago, Illinois. They are probably best known for their “312” beer which can be found around the country.  Yesterday, I was at Wade’s Wines in Newbury Park, CA – a frequent spot for beer tasting due to their rotating selection of 103 beers on tap. I tried Goose Island Matilda, a Belgian Strong Pale Ale. It was fantastic – in my top 5 or 10 beers ever.         http://www.gooseisland.com/pages/matilda/25.php

Any other Matildas I should know about?  Waltzing Matilda?

Leave a Reply

