Total Eclipse of the…Moon

“While most of the US is covered in dense clouds, the Pacific Northwest

looks to have perfect viewing conditions for tonight’s total eclipse.”

As I watched the national news, I sure didn’t expect to ever hear those words put together in a sentence like that – the PNW having better weather than everywhere else. I would typically put money on someone else’s weather being better, but as it turns out, the total eclipse was visible here. I feel extra lucky because, as light fog and clouds started to creep into the skyline in the early morning hours [guess how late I stayed up… I’ll tell you later], there was a tiny section of Portland where the clouds miraculously took a detour. And my place is in that zone.

moon

The Moon during Eclipse.
                                     Spica (a binary star in Virgo) is visible just to the right, and Mars (just past                                         opposition to the sun) is visible to the far upper right.

I am already behind in processing my photos; it’s been a busy week. I’m not complaining – I like to be busy, but I did accumulate a little sleep deficit during the week. [Think I stayed up to watch the eclipse until midnight? Try again. I already said “early morning.”] Here are a scant few unprocessed photos, with some processed ones promised to you in the next couple days.  Just to set the scene, the eclipse began around 9-something PM.  I swam laps in the swimming pool at my complex, checking the moon every couple laps. When the eclipse was about to start, I ran back to my place, on to the balcony, and turned on my camera. It was already on my tripod, timer-control attached, and I had no concerns about it getting rained on. For once! It was glorious.

Before the Eclipse

Before the Eclipse

...As the eclipse begins.

…As the eclipse begins

around 10:30 PM

11:00 PM -ish

11:00 PM -ish

Around 11:45pm

Around 11:45pm

11:56PM - right before the sky looked totally black for over an hour

11:56PM – right before the sky looked totally black for over an hour

Past 1AM

Past 1AM

Closer to 2 AM

Closer to 2 AM

Closer to 3 AM

Closer to 3 AM

This is at 4 AM

This is at 4 AM

Then, it was bedtime.

One thought on “Total Eclipse of the…Moon

Leave a Reply

