Halfway Through Summer

Today I am just about halfway through my summer, which began June 12th and ends August 25th.

I am very blessed to have acquired a new job so quickly this year. To refresh your memories, last year I sent something like 55 applications, interviewed 8-10 times and ultimately was offered a temporary one-year position at a local middle school, about 20 minutes drive from where I live.

This year, I probably applied to 15 places, though most of those were in the same two or three districts, meaning I just filled out one application and then checked which jobs I wanted.  On my second interview, I was offered a position at a local high school.  Beaverton has five or six and I was offered a position at the one closest to downtown. It’s only about 10 minutes drive from here. Really it’s about 4 miles, but there are NUMEROUS stoplights.  It’s probably a good thing I didn’t get a job at the school in the neighborhood where I live, because those students hang out at the coffee shop which I am always at.   As a matter of fact, during May and June, word got around I was a math teacher and I was helping large groups of high school students who were studying for their finals.  I’m not sure how that would work if my actual students hung out where I hang out.

I’m now a Beaver. Not an Oregon State Beaver (I haven’t decided U. of O vs. OSU) but a Beaverton HS Beaver. That means I will be purchasing, or at least wearing, more orange and black.   I hate those colors.

San_Francisco_Giants3

It makes me sick to even mention this team on my blog.  

 

I will be teaching Algebra, Geometry, and Math Skills. I’ve already met several of the faculty and they’re great. We’ll get along well!

In other news, I went to Crater Lake last weekend. The highlight was cliff jumping into the 50-ish degree water, twice. It was so much fun. I have photos and will post them as soon as I get them off my friend’s camera.

 

The next two posts will be 1) photos of Crater Lake  and 2) more books I’ve read.

family is visiting in a couple weeks, then I plan to go for a long drive. Maybe to Boise.

 

Leave a Reply

